Courtney Barnett

Venue: Totara Street, Mt Maunganui

Date: Thursday 22 July 2021

Doors Open: 07:00pm

Start Time:

Age Restriction: R18

Buy Tickets

Courtney Barnett announces she will be undertaking a solo tour around Aotearoa this July including a show at Totara Street, in her first live shows in over 12 months.

Having been grounded in 2020 care of the global pandemic, Barnett made the best of a bad situation and wrote and recorded a new record. That drops later this year, but before it does the maestro is touring her solo show to all corners of Aotearoa – a country she's adored touring in the past and a place she considers herself lucky to have the opportunity to return to.

With nine dates at some of New Zealand's favourite venues, local audiences are in for a treat as Barnett dials things right down and prepares to deliver gems from her catalogue in an intimate setting. After years of touring with her thunderous band around the globe, the performer recently found herself craving the simplicity of her early days as a straight up singer-songwriter.

Armed with just a guitar, her renowned banter and some of the best indie folk songs of the past decade, she toured North America throughout the pre-pandemic months of 2020 like she had never done before.

Those shows saw Courtney at both her most raw and personal. She played town halls, barns, churches, dive bars, haunted hotels, ski-lodges, theatres and studios, all to enraptured audiences, who couldn't quite believe they were watching the artist in this mode.

For Courtney, the simplicity and honesty of performing solo was an inspirational salve; a way to fall back in love with the art and craft of song. This is the Courtney Barnett New Zealand gets to witness in July, on what will be an unmissable tour.

Tour Dates
Thursday 8th July – Cabana, Napier
Friday 9th July – San Fran, Wellington
Wednesday 14th July – The Boathouse, Nelson
Friday 16th July – Blue Smoke, Christchurch
Saturday 17th July – Glenroy Auditorium, Dunedin
Sunday 18th July – Sherwood Hotel, Queenstown
Wednesday 21st July – Leigh Sawmill, Leigh
**Thursday 22nd July – Totara St, Tauranga**
Friday 23rd July – Clarence St. Theatre, Hamilton
Saturday 24th July – Raglan Club, Raglan

Tickets on sale from 12pm, Friday 23rd April via courtneybarnett.com.au

Comments